top of page

Can Art Cure You?

A question that is asked by many, can art save you? Can it cure you from hurt or pain? Well, speaking from first hand experience I believe it very much can.

Photography: Aisling O'Beirn
Still from my performance 'Letter to Heaven', Photography by Aisling O'Beirn


A lot of us go through struggles in life, some more than others, and with money and power ruling the world it's no wonder that there is times where we can feel unworthy or overwhelmed in everyday life. First and foremost everyone has a purpose in this crazy world and everyone is loved by someone no matter what.


What I have learned from art is that your creativity and freedom of expression can really help you grow and form as a person. You have to let go in order to be free, embrace the world to capture the power of nature and give love and be kind to others in order to be appreciated and feel loved in return.


When working on my pieces or writing whats on my mind, I find it very liberating. It gives me the freedom to express whats on my mind and share my feelings and thoughts with others. Sometimes people will be receptive of what I have to say or maybe even share or emphasise with how im feeling. Other times they may want to challenge me or just simply not understand, but what's important is that I say it, I express it. I let go rather than hold on to what's inside, what im feeling or how i'm thinking.


Me personally I have experienced a lot of heartache in life. Even though i'm only 24, what I've went through has still had an effect on my mental health and well being. But throughout it all what is apparent is that my main way of coping is reflecting these things through my art. Sometimes I will paint something and when I do I will either get a sense of relief or a sense of encouragement. Sometimes I will write and when I do I can shed a tear and let it go or I can ease my heart and reflect on where I've been.



Sunrise, Acrylic on canvas by Jordain Molloy Gillen

Art allows me to be me, I have no need to hide or bottle up how I am feeling. Art allows me to throw it all away, to paint a new picture for my future and to be free. Art is my friend. Life encourages me and inspires me everyday to create and inspire others. So do I believe art can cure you? Absolutely, without my art I wouldn't be me.


Today do something that inspires you, set yourself free. Art doesn't have to be a painting or a drawing. Art is what you make it. Live in the moment, be happy, be free and most importantly be you.









23 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page